This listing is inactive!

If you own this listing and want to activate it again?

Please login to your account here.

Welcome to Provincial Irrigation Department-Eastern Province



Visit Site


The 13th amendment to the constitution of Sri Lanka has provided for the establishment of Provincial Councils and devolution of responsibility, inter alia for Provincial Irrigation Schemes. Therein the taking over of the devolved functions in NEP commenced in July 1989 and Provincial Irrigation Department was formed under the Ministry of Irrigation and Housing of the North East Province. Later it was brought under the Ministry of Irrigation, Construction, Transport, Highways and Communications, and then it functioned under the Chief Secretary, NEP with the direction of Deputy Chief Secretary, Engineering Services NEP. Presently it is functioning under the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock Development, Lands, Irrigation and Fisheries, NEP. In 2007 the NEP Council was demerged as North and East Provinces separately. There upon the Eastern Provincial Irrigation Department comes under Eastern Provincial councils Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock Development, Fisheries, Land and Irrigation, after the provincial council election, the provincial Irrigation Department comes under Ministry of Irrigation, Road Development, Building & construction and Rural Electrification & Water Supply.